Calhoun Memorial Library Board Meeting Minutes June 6, 2023

Minutes of the Calhoun Memorial Library Board of Director's Meeting: June 6, 2023

The board meeting was called to order at 9 a.m. on June 6, 2023, by Vice-President Nancy Nix at the Calhoun Memorial Library.

Members present: Louise Brown, Evie Nelson, Brandy Johnson, Jeff Martin, Nancy Nix and Rachel Westberg. Missing was Jean Wacker. Also present were library director Emily Resendiz, Friends of the Library Board President Barb Ryan, and the new county-appointed board of director member John Banks.

The agenda was approved by motion of Rachel Westberg, seconded by Brandy Johnson. Motion carried.

There were no in-person public comments, but the board did welcome its newest member, John Banks, who was appointed as a representative from the Barron County Board.

Minutes of the May 2023 board meeting and the May 24 special meeting were presented to board members in printed form. Motion was made Brandy Johnson, seconded by Louise Brown, to accept the minutes as printed for both meetings. Motion carried.

Treasurer Brandy Johnson presented the expenditures for May; the year-to-date budget, Act 150 and checking account report for May was not yet available. Motion made by Evie Nelson, seconded by Jeff Martin, to approve the May expenditures. Motion carried.

Library Director Emily Resendiz presented petty cash, statistics, and activities in her director's reports. Friends President Barb Ryan provided an update from the Friends of the Library.

Rachel Westberg, school representative, reported on Chetek-Weyerhaeuser school activities.

Jeff Martin reported on city happenings as the city council representative.

Resendiz presented the board with a proposal to increase wages for current staff, as there was some funding savings with recent employee departures. She also noted she wanted to compensate the current staff for taking on additional duties while being understaffed. Motion to approve wage increase as proposed was made by Jeff Martin, seconded by Evie Nelson. Motion carried.

The board began a review and discussion of the Bylaws for the Board of Trustees. Formal review and adoption of bylaws was tabled to the July meeting.

The board briefly discussed the conversation that occurred during the special needs assessment meeting on May 24.

A motion was made by Jeff Martin, seconded by John Banks, to elect Brandy Johnson as the new treasurer and maintain the current slate of officers for another term: Jean Wacker (president), Nancy Nix (vice president), Rachel Westberg (secretary). Motion carried.

Motion to adjourn by Brandy Johnson, seconded by Jeff Martin. Motion carried; meeting adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Rachel alestberg